Odisha gets 11 more CNG filling stations


Odisha gets 11 more compressed natural gas (CNG) filling stations that will encourage environmental-friendly transport system in the state.

Out of the total number of new stations seven are in Khordha district and four in Cuttack. This will increase total number of CNG stations in the state to 22.

Minister for Petroleum & Natural Gas and Steel Dharmendra Pradhan said that India has committed to achieve 15% share of natural gas in the primary energy mix by 2030 for a more sustainable energy use which will help reduce environmental pollution, fulfil India’s commitment to COP-21.

Greater use of natural gas will reduce dependence on fossil fuel and consequently reduce import bill and import dependence, he added.

Pradhan said that the Ministry is pushing for greater adoption and utilisation of cleaner and greener fuel including Hydrogen, CBG, Ethanol Blended Petrol (EBP) and LNG.

In Khordha district, new CNG stations will come up at IOCL Lingaraj filling station near Samantarapur, HPCL Rajpath Motor on NH-16, COCO-Khurda filling station at Daleiputa on NH-16, Nandi filling station at Kiajhari, Paikrai filling station at Rameswara Chowk in Tangi, Maa Biseswari filling station at Pahala and Balaji filling station at Agalpada.

Similarly, in Cuttack district, the CNG stations will be at Twin City Petroleum Ltd. at Bhanpur, Maa Durga filling station at Kairapari near Tangi, Guru Maharaja filling station at Kotsahi and Rashmi filling station at Choudwar.